2021 Auto News India

How will India get more safer cars?

Credits: www.motoroctane.com

Customers have started giving a lot of priority to safety these days. The concern for safety in a car has reached a level where manufacturers deliberately promote their cars mainly focusing on safety. Some OEMs have even shunned others in the past for not producing cars that are safe in every sense. Although some brands have to be credited for drawing customers’ attention towards safety, however, a major role has been played by assessment companies that conduct crash tests and rate the cars accordingly. One of them is the GNCAP (Global New Car Assessment Programme), or generally attributed as the Global-NCAP. This specific assessment programme has had a major impact on the Indian automotive manufacturers with its #SaferCarsForIndia, pushing them to bring out the best from a car in terms of safety. However, it has come to light that GNCAP is moving towards pushing stricter assessment rules that will raise the standards for scoring a 5-star safety rating. In this article, we will discuss the new assessment rules and how they will help India in getting much safer cars. Let’s go.

What are the regular parameters included in the assessment?

Thar safety gncap

There are multiple parameters that come together to mark a car as safe or not. GNCAP conducts tests based on these parameters thus setting a general crash test procedure. The cars are made to undergo a Front Offset Deformable Barrier Test. This specific test imitates a front collision, which is a general observance in case of crashes. The cars are made to crash on a barrier at a speed of 64kmph. Results of structural integrity, occupant safety and airbag deployment are some of the parameters that are compiled together to reach the final rating.

What are the new parameters that will be included?

Along with the frontal crash, GNCAP will now mandatorily include side collisions as well. The side collisions are already being carried for cars that have secured 5-star safety ratings or for manufacturers that have voluntarily opted for it. Also, ESC (Electronic Stability Control) and seatbelt reminders will now become part of the evaluation. With the inclusion of these parameters, it will become much tougher to score a 5-star rating, a summit that many have still not reached. These rules are mostly expected to be adopted from January 2022.