2020 News


After three of the five rounds took place the COVID-19 pandemic forced the final two rounds to be postponed, but due to the ongoing restrictions enforced in New Zealand the championship has been declared under a ‘Force Majure.’

“It’s a shame the season couldn’t be run until the end; however, we all live in challenging times currently, and after consultation with competitors, sponsors and Motorsport New Zealand, it was decided this was the best decision to make,” said category manager, Gary Lathrope.

Kiwi Heimgartner dominated the first three rounds of the season in his Hamilton Motorsports Holden Commodore winning all eight races and earning himself his second NZ V8 Championship after taking the 2017/18 title.

TCR Australia driver and rookie Alexandra Whitley finished second in a Richards Team Motorsport Toyota Camry, while Brad Lathrope rounded out the top three in his Dayle ITM Ford Falcon.

Justin McIlroy was crowned the BNT V8 Lites champ, with Sam Collins taking open class honours in his highly modified Ford Mustang.

This marks the end of an era for the NZ V8s as the series makes the switch from TL regulations to Trans Am next season.

“We’ve got an incredibly exciting new platform of V8 racing to now introduce to New Zealand. These cars are massively successful in multiple markets around the world, and especially Australia,” Lathrope said.

“This will give us an amazing opportunity to offer a true Trans-Tasman and international competition for competitors which we think is exciting.”

The NZV8 Touring Car board are excited to welcome Trans Am as the top class and announced the first two sales on New Zealand soil.

Read Full Story at autoaction.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × 3 =